Bouncing Ball Review

Michael said a problem with my animations is that they’re too mathematical, they look like they’re are propelling itself upwards instead of of bouncing. I need to feel the bounce more than just being mathematical about it, this goes down to the values I used for squash and stretch there was too much of a pattern to them rather than it changing during it’s path.

Also looking into my graphs the rotate turned out to be negative in some cases when it shouldn’t be, this is why my balls seemed to float in the air.

My bowling balls path needed to be higher up and fall straight down, it’s when it rolls tapering off that gives it it’s real sense of weight.

Another point was that we shouldn’t get too caught up in making it completely realistic and try to make it more fun. Maybe then if I have some time I might go back and try something different with the bouncing balls.

Leave a Reply

