Working on Tonal week

When I working on the Tonal week I had only really bean to move on to producing digital pieces , and I knew I was pretty rusty with digital work and I wanted to work on my textures and creating more atmospheric environments.

I still wanted to try and stick with a simplified tonal palette and I found this tutorial by Tyler Gody showing how I can use tones to shape up a painting.

environment_painting_tutorial_by_thefireis-d3acbxt

I then applied this to this first painting, I learned a lot from doing this and I like the result, my composition needs to be a bit clearer but I like the smokey atmosphere I got out of here.backgroundbaw2I then refined the same process, changing it up so this one has a darker setting than above, not as smokey so I feel it has a better definitionbaw2undergrounfrock-creature

Here I started to mess about with different textured brushes getting in some more details.baw2bg3

references

fig 1-http://thefireis.deviantart.com/art/Environment-Painting-Tutorial-198770033

Leave a Reply

